How To: Set Outlook Calendar Permissions in Apple macOS

Microsoft Outlook's calendar is a collaborative tool which allows users to create and respond to meeting requests. These meetings can be viewed by other members of the campus community as well as your contacts. The amount of detail available for others to see is customizable ranging from levels of None to Publishing Editor. This guide explains how to set Outlook calendar permissions in Apple MacOS.

Audience 

This article is intended for all students, faculty, and staff.

Platform

MacOS

How to Set Outlook Permissions

  1. Open Microsoft Outlook.
  2. Click Calendar on the bottom of the left navigation pane.
  3. Click the Organize Tab.
  4. Click Calendar Permissions
  5. Set the desired permissions. You can Add and Remove user from your permission list as well as Edit and existing user's permission level. 

Permission Levels Description

  • None: Person has no access; for calendar, person cannot see your free/busy times in the Scheduling Assistant.
  • Free / Busy Time (calendar only): Person can see blocks of "busy" time on calendar, but cannot see any details; this is the default setting for everyone at Ithaca College.
  • Free / Busy Time, Subject, Location (calendar only): Person can see time, subject, and location of items on calendar, but cannot see other details, such as participants, notes, or attachments.
  • Contributor: Person can create new items but cannot see any of the contents of the folder. (The folder's owner will be able to see them.)
  • Reviewer: Person can read items in the folder, but cannot create, edit, or delete items.
  • Non-editing Author: Person can create and read items, but not edit them. Person can delete items they've created, but cannot delete items created by the owner or other people.
  • Author: Person can create and read items. Person can edit and delete items they've created, but not items created by the owner or other people.
  • Publishing Author: Same as Author, plus person can create new sub-folders.
  • Editor: Person can create, read, edit, and delete all items, regardless of who created them.
  • Publishing Editor: Same as Editor, plus person can create new sub-folders.
  • Owner: Person has supreme executive power over the folder, as if it was their own. It is recommended not to use this option for anyone.
  • Delegate: Delegates act "on behalf of" another person. If delegate access has been granted, all email associated with meetings will go to the delegate. This level of access should only be used if someone is completely managing the calendar of someone else.

For more information, you may visit the  Microsoft Support page for sharing calendars..

Details

Article ID: 94
Created
Fri 8/4/17 10:33 AM
Modified
Fri 4/19/19 4:08 PM