How To: Set Outlook Calendar Permissions in Microsoft Windows

Microsoft Outlook's calendar is a collaborative tool which allows users to create and respond to meeting requests. Visibility of items on your calendar is determined by the permissions you set. You can set different permission levels for different users. This guide describes how to set Outlook calendar permissions in Microsoft Windows.

Audience 

This article is intended for all students, faculty, and staff.

Platform

Microsoft Windows

How to Set Outlook Permissions

  1. Open Microsoft Outlook.
  2. Click the Calendar Icon on the bottom bar of the left pane. 
  3. Click the Calendar Permissions icon located in the top toolbar in the Share group. 
  4. Select a user and set the desired permission level, per the descriptions below. You can Add and Remove users from your permission list as well as edit an existing user's permission level. When adding a new user, be sure to select them from the Global Address List. The Default at the top of the user list refers to everyone not specifically listed.

Permission Levels Description

  • None: Person has no access; for calendar, person cannot see your free/busy times in the Scheduling Assistant.
  • Free / Busy Time (calendar only): Person can see blocks of "busy" time on calendar, but cannot see any details; this is the default setting for everyone at Ithaca College.
  • Free / Busy Time, Subject, Location (calendar only): Person can see time, subject, and location of items on calendar, but cannot see other details, such as participants, notes, or attachments.
  • Contributor: Person can create new items but cannot see any of the contents of the folder. (The folder's owner will be able to see them.)
  • Reviewer: Person can read items in the folder, but cannot create, edit, or delete items.
  • Non-editing Author: Person can create and read items, but not edit them. Person can delete items they've created, but cannot delete items created by the owner or other people.
  • Author: Person can create and read items. Person can edit and delete items they've created, but not items created by the owner or other people.
  • Publishing Author: Same as Author, plus person can create new sub-folders.
  • Editor: Person can create, read, edit, and delete all items, regardless of who created them.
  • Publishing Editor: Same as Editor, plus person can create new sub-folders.
  • Owner: Person has supreme executive power over the folder, as if it was their own. It is recommended not to use this option for anyone.
  • Delegate: Delegates act "on behalf of" another person. If delegate access has been granted, all email associated with meetings will go to the delegate. This level of access should only be used if someone is completely managing the calendar of someone else.

Details

Article ID: 93
Created
Fri 8/4/17 10:02 AM
Modified
Wed 1/2/19 2:40 PM